The 2022 Osgoode Cup Results (Winners: Jennifer Zhu & Mahalia Gilmore, McMaster University)

McMaster University wins back to back Osgoode Cups, Keynote speaker Glenn Chu shares lessons on Supreme Court advocacy

For the second time in 2022, the 18th annual Osgoode Cup went virtual. But that didn’t make the competition – or the experiences of students and judges – any less meaningful.

While the virtual setting kept students outside the tournament’s usual home at Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto this year, it also offered the chance for dozens of esteemed lawyers, judges, paralegals and law students from across the country to volunteer their time as judges. We welcomed the likes of Christopher Dias, lawyer at Lerners LLP; Omar Ha-Radeye, lawyer at Fleet Street Law; Kathryn Goodenough, paralegal at DH Professional Corporation and Ran He of THC Lawyers. Our judges’ bench also welcomed some of Canada’s brightest law students – many of them Osgoode Cup alumni – from schools including the University of Toronto, Osgoode Hall Law School, Queen’s University, McGill University and the University of Sussex in England.

The tournament’s Keynote speaker was Glenn Chu, counsel for the City of Toronto. Mr. Chu represented Toronto in our tournament case, Toronto (City) v Ontario (AG), at the Ontario Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Canada, and offered his expertise as the 2022 Osgoode Cup’s Keynote Speaker and as Chief Justice of the finals.

On Saturday March 5th, 73 teams (144 individual mooters) competed in four preliminary rounds with the top 16 teams moving on to Sunday’s knockout round. The quality of competition was exceptional, with McMaster University’s Jennifer Zhu and Mahalia Gilmore taking home the school’s 2nd straight Osgoode Cup national championship in a hard-fought finals against Carleton University’s Sami Islam and Hannah Beltran.

Rounding out the semifinals was two more Carleton University teams, while teams from York University, the University of Toronto and St. Thomas University all reached the quarterfinals. In the Round of 16, York, Toronto and St. Thomas were joined by teams from Wilfrid Laurier University, McMaster University and the University of Guelph-Humber. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to see all our Day 2 teams, along with the tournament’s Top 10 Individual Oralists.

The 2022 Osgoode Cup would like to thank our Organizing Team, tournament convenor Andrew Monkhouse, and the hundreds of students and judges who volunteered their time this weekend. We would also like to thank our tournament sponsors, Stikeman Elliott, The Princeton Review and Monkhouse Law.

Although the online format kept us apart once again, we look forward to the chance to welcome all of you back at Osgoode Hall Law School for the 19th annual Osgoode Cup in 2023!

Our 2022 Osgoode Cup Champions are:

Jennifer Zhu & Mahalia Gilmore (McMaster University)

2022 Finalists:

Sami Islam & Hannah Beltran (Carleton University)

2022 Semifinalists:

Mélanie Davidson & Madison Venugopal (Carleton University)
Davin Caratao & Sophia King Gillis (Carleton University)

2022 Quarterfinalists:

Elizabeth Hamilton & Kiana Malizia (York University)
Fayha Najeeb & Lucy Stark (University of Toronto)
Paytra Waibel & Emma Ruiza (St. Thomas University)
Robin Yuen & Angelina Zhang (University of Toronto)

2022 Round of 16:

Priya Basra and Despina Tsamis (York University)
Lesha Shah & Navya Sheth (McMaster University)
Elisha Gunaratnam & Muchaneta Nyambuya (St. Thomas University)
Claire Parish & Victoria Liu (University of Toronto)
Avery Wilson & Tamara Djuknic (Wilfrid Laurier University)
Yuxin Wu & Shivaansh Khanna (McMaster University)
Jenny Trang & Serena Allidina (University of Guelph-Humber)
Rehana Lalani & Madeline Di Re (Wilfrid Laurier University)

2022 Top Oralists:

1: Priya Basra (York University)
2*: Lesha Shah (McMaster University)
2*: Davin Caratao (Carleton University)
4*: Despina Tsamis (York University)
4*: Navya Sheth (McMaster University)
6: Angelina Zhang (University of Toronto)
7*: Shaima Desai (Sheridan College)
7*: Madison Venugopal (Carleton University)
9: Avery Wilson (Wilfrid Laurier University)
10*: Fayha Najeeb (University of Toronto)
10*:  Robin Yuen (University of Toronto)

Click here to see the full Day 2 Bracket.

Thank you to our sponsors of the 2022 Osgoode Cup:

Stikeman Elliott Princeton Review

Monkhouse Law