Osgoode Cup 2019 Results (Winners: Brianna Workman & Kelly Brennan – St. Thomas University)

Osgoode Cup 2019 Results

The 2019 Osgoode Cup was the fifteenth annual iteration of the event.

The event was notable for it’s many great speakers, including Nathaniel (Nate) Erskine-Smith, MPP for Beaches-East York and winner of the 2006 Osgoode Cup returning for the opening ceremonies. As well introductory speaker Kim Gale and keynote speaker for the banquet Omar Ha-Redeye were able to share their knowledge at the banquet.

The Chief Justice of the event was Barry Fisher, noted mediator and arbitrator as well as long-time supporter of the Osgoode Cup.

The 109 teams (218 participants) competed in four preliminary moots on Saturday March 2nd.

After the preliminary round the top 16 teams were selected to moot on the Sunday, March 4th in a single elimination format. The teams in the final completed eight moots over the course of the weekend.

Photos from the event:

View photos on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2343722095680449&type=1&l=653307f9bb

Our Osgoode Cup 2019 Champions are:
St. Thomas University – Brianna Workman & Kelly Brennan 

2019 Finalists:
York – Samar Narula & Vincent Mastromatteo

2019 Semi Finalists:
Guelph-Humber Emilly Tessier & Emma Danaher
Humber Tudor Gagea & Daniel Pallag

2019 Quarter Finalists:
Carleton Steven Marchand & Nicolas Gil
U of T Caroline Chen & Steven Han
U of T Florian Nagy & Andrea Ho
York Zara Morani & Paven Grewal

2019 Round of Sixteen Mooters:
U of T Emma Ibrakovic & Stefan Rus
York Erin Corrado & Ramla Hussein
Carleton Dominique Mesina & Matthew Cameron
Humber Breanne Peacock & Jessa McAulifee
Senaca Adam Janzen & Joe Gans
U of T Anna Nabutovsky & Solomiya Zakharchukk
U of T Bill Xu & Benjamin MacLean-Max
Carleton Arielle Masur & Jordyn Selznick

2019’s Top Advocate: Tudor Gagea

2019’s Distinguished Advocates (in no particular order):
Brianna Workman – St. Thomas University

Zara Morani – York University
Ramla Hussein – York University
Daniel Pallag – Humber College
Sarah Tyler – McGill University
Ema Ibrakovic – U of T
Benjamin MacLean – Max
Vincent Mastromateo – York University
Steven Han – U of T

The Round Pairings and Judges (note, some changes in teams/judges occur after these preliminary lists go live):

Round 1 Pairings

Round 2 Pairings

Round 3 Pairings

Round 4 Pairings

Sunday Bracket: Osgoode Cup Final Sunday Bracket 2019

We would like to thank our dedicated team of volunteers, as well as the over 150 volunteer Lawyers, Law students, Professors, and Judges who came out to judge at the cup this year.

All the best and we hope to see you next year.


Andrew Monkhouse
Toronto Employment Lawyer
Osgoode Cup Co-Organizer – 2019
Barrister and Solicitor

Rachel Flommerfelt
Monkhouse Law
Osgoode Cup Co-Organizer – 2019

Proudly Sponsored by:

Gold Sponsorship
Monkhouse Law

Silver Sponsorship
Humber College