The 2012 Osgoode Cup Results (Winners: Evan Reiter & Marcus Liik, Ivey Business School)

8th Osgoode Cup a Resounding Success

The eighth annual Osgoode Cup – a tournament that allows post-secondary students who have an interest in law to get a taste of oral advocacy through mooting – was held at Osgoode Hall last weekend.

This year, 48 teams of two from across Ontario argued the case of R v Sinclair and had to be prepared to make submissions for both the appellant and respondent.

Tournament Director Ian Perry stated that there was “tremendous talent” on display at this year’s moot and “the preliminary round scores were extremely close.”

This year’s tournament champions along with the judges of the final bench (from left): Andrew Monkhouse ’12 (Chief Justice of the 8th Osgoode Cup), Shirley Wales (Deputy Judge – Ontario Small Claims Court), Markus Liik (Champion, Richard Ivey School of Business), Osgoode Professor Stepan Wood (Chief Justice of the final bench), Evan Reiter (Champion, Richard Ivey School of Business), Bernard Aron (Deputy Judge – Ontario Small Claims Court), Ian Perry ’13 (Tournament Director).




The moot, which is a joint effort of the Osgoode Mooting Society and the Osgoode Debate Society, would not have been possible without the help of 65 volunteer judges made up of law students, lawyers, professors and judges.

The final round of the tournament was held in the Moot Court Room with a five-panel bench consisting of two of the event organizers, two deputy judges of the superior court, and Osgoode Professor Stepan Wood as the Chief Justice.  Evan Reiter and Markus Liik from Western University’s Richard Ivey School of Business, former semi-finalists from the 7th moot, improved to become this year’s champions.

Congratulations to everyone involved in the execution of yet another successful Osgoode Cup!

Distinguished Oralists (Based on the highest individual scores from Saturday’s rounds)
*In no particular order
  • Michael De Luca
  • Allison Medjuck
  • Alexander Miller
  • Aoife Quinn
  • Michael Soo
  • Colin Stevens
  • Kaisha Thompson
  • Nicholas Valsamis
  • Stephen Wellman
Top Oralist (Highest overall individual score from Saturday’s rounds)

Aliah El-Houni


  • Micheal Soo and Thazheni Sivarajah (York University – York Debate)
  • Alexander Miller and Stephen Wellman (Richard Ivey School of Business – Ivey Law Club)
Finalist (Second Place Pair)

Teanna Lobo and Stewart Berger (Richard Ivey School of Business – Ivey Law Club)

Evan Reiter and Marcus Liik (Richard Ivey School of Business – Ivey Law Club)
Final results broken down by team and speaker can be found here
Video of the final can be found here