The 2011 Osgoode Cup Results (Winners: Meghan Bridges & Omar Madhany, Ivey Business School)

We would like to thank all participants of the 2011 Osgoode Cup.
Winning Team: Meghan Bridges and Omar Madhany (Ivey of Western Ontario)
Finalists: Emily Gilmour and Chris Yeretsian (Ivey of Western Ontario)
  • Evan Reiter and Markus Liik (Ivey)
  • Martin Pineda and Steven Bodi (Sir Wilfrid Laurier)
Quarter Finalists:
  • Mike Soo and Cassandra Bruni (York)
  • Fariya Walji and Thaxsheni Sivarajah (U of T)
  • Evan Hamilton and Michael de Luca (Carleton)
  • Devin Harm and Eric Vallillee (Carleton)
Individual Oralist Prizes:
Top Oralist: Thaxsheni Sivarajah (U of T)
Distinguished Oralists:
  • Michael de Luca (Carleton)
  • Michael Soo (York)
  • Omar Madhany (Ivey)
  • Vlad Calina (U of T)
  • Evan Reiter (Ivey)
  • Meghan Bridges (Ivey)
  • Cassandra Bruni (York)
  • Eric Vallillee (Carleton)
  • Chris Yeretsian (Ivey)
  • Fariya Walji  (U of T)

Press release:

Richard Ivey School of Business Wins 7th Annual Osgoode Cup, the first Osgoode Cup organized by students.

Ivey School of Business students Megan Bridges and Omar Madhany faced a tough final bench, led by Bernard Aron, Professor at Humber College and Associate Chief Justice of the Small Claims Court, but came out on top of the largest Osgoode Cup ever.  With 52 teams of undergraduate students from 15 schools from 5 provinces competing in this year’s Osgoode Cup, the largest intercollegiate moot in Canada and the only undergraduate moot, the competition this year was incredibly strong.

Another team from Ivey School of Business joined Megan and Omar in the finals: Emily Gilmour and Chris Yeretsian. Steven Bodi and Martin Pineda from Wilfrid Laurier University and Evan Reiter and Markus Liik from Ivey School of Business were semi-finalists.

Thaxsheni Sivarajah, a 4-time Osgoode Cup competitor was awarded the Top Oralist prize for her outstanding oral advocacy in the Preliminary Rounds.

“I knew Osgoode was one of the best law schools in Canada but this event has really improved my opinion of what the people at Osgoode are probably like…it really makes me feel like Osgoode is probably a great place to be in terms of other students and staff. I also didn’t realize what a great record Osgoode has with mooting before the event, so after this I’m really excited to apply next year,” said one competitor. Osgoode Hall’s mooting program, which helps students build oral advocacy and legal research and writing skills, is one of the best and most intensive in Canada.. Providing undergraduate students with the opportunity to try mooting before they even get to law school gets them interested in oral advocacy early on in their careers.

This year’s Osgoode Cup was entirely student-run for the first time in it’s history, presented by the Osgoode Mooting Society (OMS) and the Osgoode Debate Society. Co-Chairs, Andrew Monkhouse, ’12, President of ODS, and Jessica Mathewson,’12 VP OMS were joined by Chief Bailiff, Brent Kettles, former Osgoode Cup winner.  While this is the first year the competition was run by Osgoode students, mooters had the opportunity to speak 4 times in the preliminary rounds and the administration team added Quarter-Final matches as well. The number of teams participating in the competition doubled from 2010.

The 2011 Osgoode Cup was generously sponsored by Lenczner Slaght LLP, The Legal and Literacy Society of Osgoode Hall, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP and the York Vice President Academic Office held by Provost Monahan. Over 60 law students and practitioners served as judges for the competition.

The case mooted this year was R. v. Cornell, an appeal concerning the reasonableness of hard or dynamic entries by police when executing search warrants, under s. 8 of the Charter.

Pictures from the 7th Annual Osgoode Cup: Please email with more if you would like them added!